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INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

DATE: FEBRUARY 24, 2016
TO: FOREIGN REINSURERS

SUBJECT: 2016 FILING INSTRUCTIONS TO ESTABLISH OR MAINTAIN
STATUS AS QUALIFIED UNLICENSED REINSURER IN
PENNSYLVANIA
[31 Pa. Code § 161.3(2)]

FROM: FINANCIAL ANALYSIS DIVISION

This memorandum identifies the criteria your company must meet and the documents you
must submit to establish or maintain qualified reinsurer status in the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania. These requirements are set forth in 31 PA Code Chapter 161, which are
available on The Pennsylvania Code website at: Requirements for Qualified Reinsurers.

PLEASE NOTE FILING FEES ARE DUE WITH THE FILINGS.

DOCUMENT COPIES DUE DATE

2015 Annual Statement (Hard Copy) 1 March 1, 2016

QR-1 Form
(properly executed using the blank form linked at Blank QR-1 Form)

Please note that the lawful agent designated in the QR-1 Form 1 March 1, 2016
needs to be a corporate officer such as the Corporate Secretary; it
cannot be simply the name of the Company.

CPA Audited Financial Report (Hard Copy) 1 June 1, 2016

1. Filing Fees - The annual filing fee is currently $750. Please remit with your annual filing.
Checks should be made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”.

2. Extensions - The insurance laws of Pennsylvania make no provision for granting filing
date extensions for the documents listed above.
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In addition to the filing requirement outlined above, each reinsurer must maintain the following
criteria to keep their qualified reinsurer status:

1. Belicensed to transact insurance or reinsurance in at least one accredited state or in the
case of a United States branch of an alien assuming insurer, be entered through and
licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance in at least one accredited state.

2. Maintain a surplus as regards policyholders in an amount that is not less than $20 million.

Erik J. Bunty

Financial Analysis Division

Pennsylvania Insurance Department

1345 Strawberry Square

Harrisburg, PA 17120

Phone: 717.346.8002 FAX: 717.787.8557
E-mail: ebunty@pa.gov

Office of Corporate & Financial Regulation | Bureau of Company Licensing & Financial Analysis
Financial Analysis Division |1345 Strawberry Square | Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120
Phone: 717.787.3952 | Fax: 717.787.8557 | www.insurance.pa.gov | ra-in-analysis@pa.gov



http://www.insurance.pa.gov/
mailto:ra-in-analysis@pa.gov
mailto:ebunty@pa.gov

	SUBJECT: 2016 FILING INSTRUCTIONS TO ESTABLISH OR MAINTAIN STATUS AS QUALIFIED UNLICENSED REINSURER IN PENNSYLVANIA

