insurance required in Pennsylvania?
Like driving a car, if you drive a motorcycle on public
roads in Pennsylvania you must have insurance.
The motorcycle insurance market is competitive in Pennsylvania, with
many insurers offering this coverage.
What safety gear am I
required to wear?
Protective headgear, helmets, are optional for most riders
under Pennsylvania law. Helmets are
required for anyone 21 years old or younger, unless that person has two years
of riding experience or has completed a motorcycle safety course approved by
PennDOT or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.
While helmets are not required for most riders, the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration says riders who wear a helmet are 37 percent
less likely to die in a crash, and 67 percent less likely to suffer a brain
available for motorcycle insurance?
Many insurers offer discounts for motorcyclists who have
completed safety courses, have memberships in certain associations, or have
safe driving records. Anti-lock braking
systems help maintain control during sudden stops, and some insurers offer
discounts for motorcycles with factory installed anti-lock braking systems. Insurers often also offer discounts for “bundling”,
or buying multiple policies, such as car or motorcycle insurance and
homeowner’s coverage, from one company.
Consumers should discuss whether any of these discounts is available
from their insurer.
Get more information on PennDOT’s
motorcycle safety program and on Pennsylvania’s
motorcycle helmet law, and enjoy the open road in Pennsylvania safely.