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The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania appreciates your interest in exploring business
opportunities here. A license issued by the Insurance Department is required to transact
business as an Insurance Premium Finance Company in Pennsylvania pursuant to the
Insurance Premium Finance Company Act of December 19, 1984, P.L. 1182, No. 224 (40
P.S. § 3301 et. seq.), hereinafter referred to as the “Act”. This packet will explain the
procedures to be followed and the documentation to be filed to obtain a license as an
Insurance Premium Finance Company.
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I. GENERAL APPLICATION PROCEDURES I

You may find the following general comments helpful as you proceed through the application
process. At any time while your application is pending, please do not hesitate to contact the
Company Licensing Division at (717) 787-2735, or FAX (717) 787-8557, should you have a
question.

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

To expedite the application process, we recommend you assign one member of your staff
as the designated point of contact for all correspondence and/or telephone inquiries with
the Department.

After receiving your application, the Department will assign a Licensing Specialist to
process your submission. Please use this person as your primary point of contact with the
Department.

The Licensing Specialist will acknowledge the receipt of your application in writing and a
general review of your application will be performed. You will be notified within two
weeks of your application if all principal filing requirements are satisfied.

Your timely response to Department inquiries during our review is appreciated.
Unanswered inquiries over 90 days old may result in the application being considered
inactive.

Please notify the Licensing Specialist should any changes occur with information
contained in previously submitted documents. Any changes to documents previously
submitted should be immediately forwarded to the Department to supplement the original
application. Allowing application information to become outdated may cause delays.

Il. QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE '

All applicants for licensure as an Insurance Premium Finance Company must satisfy two primary
qualifications, i.e., experience and net worth. The minimum requirements for each qualification
are as follows:

Office Manager - Minimum Experience

To qualify for a license, the applicant must demonstrate that its staff has adequate experience in
transacting business in accordance with the intent and purpose of the Act. The individual listed on
the application as Office Manager shall be the person actively in charge of the operation of the

Insurance Premium Finance Company on a full-time basis. The minimum experience required for
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approval as an Office Manager is employment in a consumer discount company, small loan
company, bank or sales finance company on a full-time basis for a period of not less than one year,
or any equivalent experience and/or training which provides the required knowledge and abilities.

Net Worth - Minimum Requirement

The minimum net worth required at the time of the issuance of a license is $50,000. This amount of
net worth must be maintained during the entire time the license is held.

I11. APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

Premium Finance companies applying for a license must submit the following:
1. Application Form IDDC-20

2. License Fee - A non-refundable license fee of $200.00 must accompany each application for
licensure. Checks are to be made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”.

3. Business Plan

4. A Biographical Affidavit on the enclosed format for each officer, each director, and the office
manager.

5. Articles of Incorporation stamped as received by the Pennsylvania Department of State.
Foreign (out-of-state) entities must attach a copy of its filing for a Certificate of Authority
stamped as received by the Pennsylvania Department of State.

6. An internally prepared balance sheet and income statement must be submitted for the
applicant. Audited financial statements should be submitted if the applicant is audited by a
certified public accountant on an annual basis. The financial statements must: (1) be for the
legal entity that is applying for the license (the parent’s financial statements are not
acceptable), (2) show a minimum net worth of $50,000, and (3) be certified and sworn to by
the applicant.

7. Two (2) copies of the Insurance Premium Finance Agreement
Completed applications should be submitted to:
Pennsylvania Insurance Department
Bureau of Company Licensing and Financial Analysis
Company Licensing Division

Room 1345, Strawberry Square
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Harrisburg, PA 17120

I11. OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION

License Issuance

Licenses are issued by the Insurance Commissioner annually on July 1st. The license fee of
$200.00 is due on or before July 1st of each year. The license certificate shall be posted so it will
be in full view of the public.

License Expiration

Should a licensee fail to renew a license on July 1st, or a license is revoked, canceled, terminated
or surrendered, all privileges of the Act are forfeited, but the requirements of the Act remain in
effect for currently outstanding loans.

Place of Business-Change of Address

Provide immediate notice to the Department of any change of address.
Examinations

The Insurance Commissioner may conduct periodic examinations of the premium finance
company in accordance with the provisions of the Act. Such examinations are performed during
regular business hours by representatives of the Department. The costs of examinations are paid
by the licensee in accordance with the guidelines established by Department regulations (31 Pa
Code, Chapter 12). Such costs are based upon the actual time and expenses of the examiner in
making the examination.

Service Fees or Charges

Section 8(c) of the Act permits a licensed premium finance company to charge insureds a $10.00
nonrefundable service charge per insurance premium finance agreement. Any application that
includes a service charge in excess of the amount specified by the Act would need to be amended.

Pennsylvania Statutes

The compilation of the Pennsylvania Insurance Laws and cumulative pocket supplement
thereto may be purchased from:

a) Purdon’s Statutes, West Publishing Company
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b)

d)

610 Operman
St. Paul, MN 55123
Tele: (800) 733-2889
Website: http://www.westgroup.com

National Insurance Law Service Publishing Co.
6750 Eton Avenue
Canogo Park, CA 91303

Tele: (800) 423-5910

Website: http://www.nils.com

BHM Insurance Services, L.L.C.
P. O. Box 25130
Wilmington, DE 19899-5130
Tele: (302) 678-8795
(800) 543-3635
Website: http:/www.ramassociates.com

Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes
State Bookstore Annex

State Records Center Building

1825 Stanley Drive

Harrisburg, PA 17103

Tele: (717) 787-510

If you wish to subscribe to the Pennsylvania Bulletin please contact:

REV. 01/08/2013

Director, Pennsylvania Code and Bulletin
641 Main Capital Building

Room 647

Harrisburg, PA 17120-0033

Tele: (717) 783-1530

Fax: (717) 787-6362
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