Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania Insurance Department > Distracted Driving Consumer Alert

Consumer Alert - Distracted Driving

Spring is here, and as the weather gets warmer more Pennsylvanians will be on the roads taking trips, visiting family, and for recreation. April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and Commissioner Miller has some tips to keep yourself safe on the roads and to minimize your insurance risk.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration defines distracted driving as any activity that takes attention away from driving. This includes activities beyond texting and talking on the phone, like eating or drinking, applying makeup or shaving, or adjusting radio stations. GPS navigation is excluded from this (though if you are road tripping across state lines, be aware that the law varies by state).

Recent studies have found that distracted driving is on the rise, and that it now is the leading cause of car accidents with over 50 percent of crashes involving a distracted driver. Between 2014 and 2016, the number of collision claims increased by 2.6 percent.

If you are given a citation for distracted driving or are in an accident and file a claim, your insurance provider can use that information to re-evaluate the risk of insuring you, which means that your rates could go up.

Before getting behind the wheel, you should make sure to give yourself adequate time to get ready, that you map your journey before starting to drive, and put your phone away on silent or do not disturb so that you can give driving your undivided attention.

For more information visit our Auto insurance page.