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RECEIVED -
SURANCE DEPARTMENT

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
' COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN RE: VIOLATIONS:
KEITH E. SANCHEZ : 40 P.S. §§ 310.11(1), (2), (3), (8)
332 Via El Chico : (20), 310.78(a) and 310.78(b)
Redondo Beach, CA 90277 ;
Respondent. : Docket No. CO18-08-006
CONSENT ORDER
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AND NOW, this ' H’h day of ’\/{}L/g mne| - *"‘ug , this Order is hereby
issued by the Insurance Department of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania pursuant to

the statutes cited above and in disposition of the matter captioned above.

l. Respondent hereby admits and acknowledges that he has received proper
notice of his rights to a formal administrative hearing pursuant to the Administrative

Agency Law, 2 Pa.C.S. § 101, et seq., or other applicable law,

2, Respondent hereby waives all rights to a formal administrative hearing in
this matter, and agrees that this Consent Order, and the Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law contained herein, shall have the full force and effect of an Order
duly entered in accordance with the adjudicatory procedures set forth in the

Administrative Agency Law, supra, or other applicable law.



3.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Insurance Department finds true and correct each of the following

Findings of Fact:

(2)

(b)

(©)

(d)

(e)

®

(2

Respondent is Keith E. Sanchez, and maintains his address at 332 Via El

Chico, Redondo Beach, CA 90277.

Respondent is, and at all times relevant hereto has been, a licensed

non-resident producer.

Respondent pled nolo contendere to misdemeanor charges in the Superior
Court of California, County of Los Angeles in November 1994, which as

of September 5, 2018 have been expunged.

Respondent incorrectly answered “No” to the criminal history question on
his initial May 18, 2001 license application by failing to disclose his 1994

DU conviction.

Respondent was arrested on February 15, 2012, and charged with one (1)

felony, four (4) misdemeanors and one (1) summary violation.

Respondent incorrectly answered “No” to the criminal history question on

his April 5, 2012 license renewal application.

Respondent, in relation to the charges identified in paragraph 3(e), pled

nolo contendere to misdemeanors in the Superior Court of California,




(h)

)

®

(k)

@

(m)

County of Los Angeles on June 5, 2012, which as of September 5, 2018

have been expunged.

Respondent failed to notify the Department of his criminal charges and

subsequent nolo contendere plea within 30 days.

Respondent was issued an administrative action on October 22, 2015 by
the New York Insurance Department and fined $6,000 for failure to report
his June 2012 conviction and failure to disclose the conviction on his

license renewals.

Respondent failed to notify the Department of his New York

administrative action within 30 days.

Respondent reported the New York administrative action to NIPR on

January 28, 2016.

Respondent’s unrestricted California license was revoked on

December 22, 2017, for failing to report his prior criminal convictions
referenced in paragraphs 3(c), 3(e) and 3(g), and for failing to report his
New York administrative action referenced in paragraph 3(i). He was
issued a restricted license, fined $20,000 ($10,000 suspended), and his

license was suspended for seven (7) consecutive working days.

Respondent reported the California administrative action to NIPR on

January 10, 2018.




4.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

In accord with the above Findings of Fact and applicable provisions of

law, the Insurance Department concludes and finds the following Conclusions of Law:

(a)

(b)

©

(@

©

Respondent is subject to the jurisdiction of the Pennsylvania Insurance

Department.

40 P.S. § 310.11(1) prohibits a licensee or an applicant for a license from
providing incorrect, misleading, incomplete or false information to the

Department in a license application.

Respondent’s activities described above in paragraphs 3(d) and 3(f)

violate 40 P.S. § 310.11(1).

40 P.S. § 310.11(2) prohibits a licensee or an applicant from violating the
insurance laws or regulations of this Commonwealth or a subpoena or

order of the commissioner or of another state’s insurance commmissioner.

Respondent’s activities described above in paragraphs 3(c) through 3(m)

violate 40 P.S. § 310.11(2).




(f) 40 P.S. § 310.11(3) prohibits a licensee or an applicant from obtaining or

attempting to obtain a license through misrepresentation or fraud.

(&)  Respondent’s activities described above in paragraphs 3(d) and 3(f)

violate 40 P.S. § 310.11(3).

(h) 40 P.S. § 310.11(8) prohibits a licensee or an applicant from having a
producer license or other financial services license denied, suspended or

revoked by a governmental entity.

® Respondent’s activities described above in paragraph 3(1) violate

40 P.S. § 310.11(8).

() 40 P.S. § 310.11(20) prohibits a licensee or an applicant from
demonstrating a lack of general fitness, competence or reliability sufficient

to satisfy the Department that the licensee is worthy of licensure.

(k)  Respondent’s activities described above in paragraphs 3(c) through 3(m)

violate 40 P.S. § 310.11(20).

O 40 P.S. § 310.78(a) requires a licensee to report any administrative action

taken in another jurisdiction or by another governmental agency within




(m)

(1)

()

30 days of the final disposition, to include a copy of the order, consent

order or other relevant legal documents.

Respondent’s activities described above in paragraph 3(j) violate

40 P.S. § 310.78(a).

40 P.S. § 310.78(b) requires that within 30 days of being charged with
criminal conduct, a licensee shall report the charges to the Department.
The licensee shall provide the Department with:

(1) a copy of the criminal complaint, information or indictment.

(2) a copy of the order resulting from any pretrial hearing.

(3)  areport of the final disposition of the charges.

Respondent’s activities described above in paragraph 3(h) violate

40 P.S. § 310.78(b).

Respondent’s violations of §§ 310.11(1), (2), (3), (8), (20), 31 0.78(a) and

310.78(b) are punishable by the following, under 40 P.S. §310.91:

(i) suspension, revocation or refusal to issue the license;
(i)  imposition of a civil penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars

($5,000.00) for every violation of the Act;




5.

(iify  anorder to cease and desist; and

(iv)  any other conditions as the Commissioner deems appropriate.

ORDER

In accord with the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, the

Insurance Department orders and Respondent consents to the following:

(2)

(b)

Respondent shall cease and desist from engaging in the activities

described herein in the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

Respondent voluntarily surrenders all licenses to conduct the business of
insurance within the Commonwealth of Penmsylvania as of the date of this

Consent Order.

Respondent shall pay a civil penalty of Six Thousand Dollars ($6,000.00)
to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Payment of this penalty shall be
made by certified check or money order, payable to the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania. Payment should be directed to Bureau of Licensing and
Enforcement, 1227 Strawberry Square, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120.
Payment may be enclosed with the Consent Order, but must be paid in any

event no later than fourteen (14) days after the date of the Consent Order.




(d)

(e)

)

(8

If Respondent should ever become licensed in the future, his licenses may
be immediately suspended by the Department following its investigation
and determination that (i) any terms of this Order have not been complied
with, or (ii) any complaint against Respondent is accurate and a statute or
regulation has been violated. The Department’s right to act under this
section is limited to a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance of

such licenses.

Respondent specifically waives his right to prior notice of gaid suspension,
but will be entitled to a hearing upon written request received by the
Department no later than thirty (30) days after the date the Department
mailed to Respondent by certified mail, return receipt requested,
notification of said suspension, which hearing shall be scheduled for a date
within sixty (60) days of the Department’s receipt of Respondent’s wriiten

request.

At the hearing referred to in paragraph S(e) of this Order, Respondent
shall have the burden of demonstrating that he is worthy of an insurance

license.

Tn the event Respondent’s licenses are suspended pursuant to paragraph

5(d) above, and Respondent either fails to request a hearing within thirty




(30) days or at the hearing fails to demonstrate that he is worthy ofa

license, Respondent’s suspended licenses shall be revoked.

6. In the event the Insurance Department finds that there has been a breach of
any of the provisions of this Order, based upon the Findings of Fact and Conclusions
of Law contained herein, the Department may pursue any and all legal remedies
available, including but not limited to the follbwing: The Department may enforce the
provisions of this Order in an administrative action pursuant to the Administrative
Agency Law, supra, or other relevant provisions of law; or, if applicable, the
Department may enforce the provisions of this Order in any other court of law or

equity having jurisdiction.

7. Alternatively, in the event the Insurance Department finds there has been a
breach of any of the provisions of this Order, the Department may declare this Order
to be null and void and, thereupon, reopen the entire matter for appropriate action

pursuant to the Administrative Agency Law, supra, or other relevant provision of law.

8. In any such enforcement proceeding, Respondent may contest whether a
breach of the proﬁisions of this Order has occurred but may not contest the Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law contained herein.




9. Respondent hereby expressly waives any relevant statute of limitations
and application of the doctrine of laches for purposes of any enforcement of this

Order.

10.  This Order constitutes the entire agreement of the parties with respect to
the matters referred to herein, and it may not be amended or modified except by an

amended order signed by all the parties hereto.

11.  This Order shall be final upon execution by the Insurance Depaﬁment.
Only the Insurance Commissioner or a duly authorized delegee is authorized to bind
the Insurance Department with respect to the setilement of the alleged violations of
law contained herein, and this Consent Order is not effective until executed by the

Insurance Commissioner or duly authorized delegee.

BY: % i’/‘ ’; /r/s/;a

(L‘HEZ Respondent

;L/’u///%/

4N
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
By: CHRISTOPHER R. MONAHAN
Deputy Insurance Commissioner
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BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
OF THE :
COMIVIONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN RE: The Act of April 9, 1929, P.L.. 177, No. 175, known as The
' Administrative Code of 1929

AND NOW, this agw day of quh , 2018, Chris‘tépher R. Monahan,
‘Deputy Insuia.nce Commissioﬁer, is hereby designated as the_Comm.issioner"s duly |
authorized répre_sentative f01; purposes of entering in and executing Consent Orde;‘s. This
deiegatioﬁof authori’gy shall continue m effect until otherwise terminated by .a later Order -

of the Insurance Commissioner.

Jessita K. Altman
Insurance Commissionér




