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RELATIATORY STATEMENT

The following information regarding admission requirements is furnished by this Department to
property and casualty insurance companies organized under the laws of other states desiring to
qualify to do business in Pennsylvania under the provisions of Section 301 of the Act of May 17,
1921, P.L. 682.

Non-refundable APPLICATION FEE of $2,500.00 must accompany submission of filing.

Minimum fees chargeable upon granting the license to the company as prescribed in Section 211
of the Act of May 17, 1921, P.L. 789, as amended, are:

Fee for filing charter $ 300.00

Fee for filing financial statement 750.00 (per financial statement)
Fee for company license 100.00

Statutory deposit due to surety business only ~ 100,000.00

TOTAL - no surety business $ 1,150.00

TOTAL - surety business $ 101,150.00

ANNUAL RENEWAL FEES:

Fee for filing financial statement § 750.00

Certificate of Authority 100.00

TOTAL $ 850.00

Subject to retaliatory provisions
for any other or greater charges

The fees thus listed are minimum and subject to retaliatory increase or other charges (upon an
aggregate basis, not fee for fee basis), in accordance with the provisions of Section 212 of the
aforementioned Act.

Minimum financial requirements are based on the classes of insurance that the company is
chartered to transact. Such requirements for stock insurance companies are determined in
accordance with the provisions of Sections 202(f), 516 and 601 of the Act of May 17, 1921, P.L.
682, as amended; and for mutual companies Sections 202(f), 531(b) and 675 of the Act.

If the statutes of the state in which the company was organized, or the requirements of the
Insurance Department impose other or additional obligations for a similar Pennsylvania company



to transact a like kind of business in such state, the same would also be required of the company
applying for admission to this Commonwealth.

A tax at the rate of 2% is assessed upon gross premiums received from business transacted
within Pennsylvania annually. Gross Premiums, whether received in money or in the form of
notes, credits, or any other substitute for money or whether the same were collected in this
Commonwealth or elsewhere, are subject to the tax. Deductible are all premiums returned on
policies cancelled or not taken or premiums actually received from reinsurance.**

Retaliatory provisions for other or greater charges by other states. Tax statement must be filed
on or before April 15 and payable on that date to the Department of Revenue, Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania.

Pursuant to the "Aggregate Rule" prescribed in Section 212 of the Act of May 17, 1921, P.L.
789, as amended, an insurance company of another state shall not be required to pay any taxes
and fees which are greater in aggregate amount than those which would be imposed by the laws
of such other state.

All other charges, taxes, and fees, including capital stock tax, fire marshal's tax, etc., (State
kinds, basis of computation and dates payable) -NONE-.

** Premium Tax Data supplied by Department of Revenue and not Insurance Department.
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