Begin Main Content Area


The information contained in the following list will be refreshed as changes are made. It is possible that additions or deletions that have been properly filed are not included in today's version of the list. The status of a Reciprocal Jurisdiction Reinsurer can be confirmed by emailing

Act 113 of 2020 was signed into law by the Governor in November of 2020. Act 113 incorporates the National Association of Insurance Commissioners' (NAIC) Credit for Reinsurance Model Law (#785) which incorporates the requirements of two agreements (Covered Agreement) between the United States and the European Union (EU) and also between the United States and the United Kingdom (UK) regarding new measures regarding reinsurance. Act 113 also creates a new type of jurisdiction, known as a Reciprocal Jurisdiction, and provides reciprocal jurisdiction status for accredited U.S. jurisdictions and qualified jurisdiction as long as they meet certain statutory requirements. Act 113 eliminates reinsurance collateral and local presence requirements in the U.S. for EU and UK reinsurers that maintain a minimum amount of their own funds. Conversely, U.S. reinsurers that maintain certain minimum statutory capital and surplus will not be required to maintain a local presence in order to do business in the EU or UK. The new standards implemented in Act 113 are required for the Department's accreditation with the NAIC.

A jurisdiction can be designated as a reciprocal jurisdiction by the Commissioner if it meets the requirements set forth in 40 P.S. § 442.3(k). 

The department is accepting applications to become a reciprocal jurisdiction reinsurer. The department is working in coordination with the NAIC's Reinsurance Task Force on the designation of qualified jurisdictions and with the Reinsurance Financial Analysis Working Group to allow "passporting" of companies that have been certified in another state.

Uniform Checklist for Reciprocal Jurisdiction Reinsurers

Form RJ-1

Form CR-F

Form CR-F Instructions

Form CR-S

Form CR-S Instructions

Reciprocal Jurisdiction Reinsurer Name
​Reciprocal Reinsurance Number
​Effective Date of Initial Recognition

Aspen Bermuda Limited
Convex Insurance UK Limited of London ("CIL")
​United Kingdom
Convex Re Limited of Hamilton, Bermuda ("CRL")
DaVinci Reinsurance Ltd.
Hannover Re Ireland (DAC)
Hannover Ruck SE
Helvetia Swiss Insurance Company Ltd.
Hiscox Insurance Company (Bermuda) Limited
Renaissance Reinsurance Ltd.
Partner Reinsurance Europe SE
Partner Reinsurance Company Ltd.
RenaissanceRe Europe AG
RenaissanceRe Specialty U.S. Ltd.
Underwriters at Lloyds
See Lloyd's List
​United Kingdom

Vermeer Reinsurance Limited

Reciprocal Jurisdictions Subject to a Covered Agreement:

United Kingdom of Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland)
Bermuda: Bermuda Monetary Authority (BMA)
Japan: Financial Services Agency (FSA)
Switzerland: Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA)

Member States of the European Union: 

​Republic of Cyprus
​Czech Republic

Reciprocal Jurisdictions Accredited by the NAIC:

​South Carolina
​South Dakota
​New Hampshire
​New Jersey
​U.S. Virgin Islands
​New Mexico
​New York
​North Carolina
​District of Columbia
​North Dakota
​West Virginia
​Rhode Island