COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

QUALIFICATION AND ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS
FOR CONTINUING CARE PROVIDERS




QUALIFICATION AND ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS FOR
CONTINUING CARE PROVIDERS

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania appreciates your interest in doing business here. In order
to operate as a continuing care provider for a facility, a certificate of authority must be obtained.
This packet will explain the procedures to be followed and the documentation to be filed to
obtain a certificate of authority as a provider of continuing care.
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Please refer to the following for guidance:

e 40P.S. § 3201 et seq. (Continuing Care Provider Registration and Disclosure Act)

e 31 Pa. Code § 151 (Continuing Care Providers)

Applicants subject to the requirements of 40 P.S. 8§ 3201 and 31 Pa. Code § 151 shall review the
law and regulations in their entirety to become familiar with all requirements. For information
on purchasing the compilation of the Pennsylvania Insurance Laws and cumulative pocket
supplement thereto, please see:

http://www.ins.state.pa.us/ins/cwp/view.asp?a=1282&09=524989

I. GENERAL APPLICATION PROCEDURES

You may find the following general comments helpful as you proceed through the application
process. At any time during the process, please do not hesitate to contact the Company
Licensing Division at (717) 787-2735 or fax (717) 787-8557 should you have a question.

1) To expedite the process, we recommend that you assign one member of your staff as the
designated point of contact for all correspondence and/or telephone inquiries.
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http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/031/chapter151/chap151toc.html
http://www.ins.state.pa.us/ins/cwp/view.asp?a=1282&q=524989

2)

3)

4)

After receiving your application, the Department assigns a Licensing Specialist to
process your submission. Please use this person as your primary point of contact with the
Department.

Within two weeks of receipt of the application in proper form, the Licensing Specialist
shall issue a notice of filing to the applicant. The Licensing Specialist will then conduct
a review of the application within 60 days of the notice of filing. The applicant will be
notified of any concerns or questions as a result of the review; the applicant will have 30
days to respond to the Department’s concerns or questions.

Notify the licensing specialist of any changes in previously submitted documents. These
include, but are not limited to changes in the directors, officers, disclosure statement, and
resident’s agreement. Allowing application information to become outdated may cause
delays or result in the application being rejected.

1. SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS

The following information shall be provided to the Department in order to make a determination
for approval for a certificate of authority as a continuing care provider:

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)
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A completed application form. If a provider is applying to provide continuing care at
multiple facilities, include a separate application form for each facility.

A check in the amount of $750, made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,”
representing the non-refundable filing fee.

A statement in support of the application conforming to 31 Pa. Code § 151.4. Note the
following regarding the statement:

a. If afeasibility study was not required to obtain financing, a study is not required
to be provided.

b. The financial analysis shall include 3-5 year projected financial statements and all
assumptions. In addition, provide the qualifications of the preparer.

c. Biographical affidavits submitted shall be in the format of the NAIC Biographical
Affidavit.

A disclosure statement for each facility accompanied by a completed Disclosure
Statement Checklist.

A printed copy and an electronic copy of the Disclosure Statement Summary Form.



http://www.naic.org/industry_ucaa.htm#charts
http://www.naic.org/industry_ucaa.htm#charts

6) A resident’s agreement for each facility accompanied by a completed Resident’s
Agreement Checklist.

7) A draft copy of the interest-bearing entrance fee escrow account agreement with a bank,
trust company, or other escrow agent, conforming to 40 P.S. § 3212.

Return completed application and attachments to:

Pennsylvania Insurance Department
Company Licensing Division
1345 Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120
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