
The Pennsylvania Insurance Department is here to 
help you understand automobile insurance. In the 
next few pages you will learn about auto insurance, 
types of coverage available, and some tips on how to 
shop and what to do if you are in an accident. 

There is no such thing as a “full coverage” auto 
insurance policy. Insurance coverages and policies can 
vary. The information in this guide is intended to help 
you understand auto insurance. The information is 
general and not specific to your insurance policy. If 
you have specific questions about your coverage, you 
should consult your agent or insurance company.



What Is Automobile Insurance? 
Automobile insurance is a  
contract between you and  
your insurance company. It  
protects you against financial  
loss if you are in an auto  
accident. Auto policies  
contain a variety of required  
and optional coverages. You  
agree to pay a fee, called the premium,  
and in return, the insurance company  
agrees to pay for certain losses as  
defined in your policy. Having the  
right insurance coverage may prevent  
you from suffering a large financial loss  
in the event of an automobile accident.

Is Auto Insurance Mandatory in 
the Commonwealth?
Drivers must purchase and maintain auto insurance 
to legally drive in Pennsylvania. This is called 
maintaining “financial responsibility” on your 
vehicles. A lapse in insurance coverage may result in 
the suspension of your vehicle registration. Operating 
a vehicle without the required insurance 
may result in a fine, the suspension of 
your driver’s license, and the forfeiture 
of your license plate and registration 
sticker. Restoration fees and proof of 
insurance must be provided prior to 
having either registration or driving 
privileges returned. Insurers are 
required to report policy terminations 
to PennDOT. Drivers are responsible for 
providing proof of continuous coverage.

What Are the Required 
Coverages in Pennsylvania?
When you purchase auto insurance, there are certain 
coverages that are required and others that are 
optional. The required coverages are:

Required coverages in Pennsylvania:
«	Medical Benefits
«	Bodily Injury Liability
«	Property Damage Liability

Medical Benefits

This coverage pays the medical bills for you and 
others who are covered by your policy, regardless of 
fault, if there are injuries resulting from an accident. 
The minimum limit is $5,000. Higher limits are 
also available. 

       Bodily Injury Liability

              If you injure someone in an auto accident,  
                this coverage pays damages for which | 
                 you are liable, such as medical and  
                  rehabilitation expenses. The minimum  
                limit is $15,000/$30,000. The $15,000  
                pays for injuries to one person, while  
             the $30,000 represents the total available for  
       one accident. Higher limits are also available.

Property Damage Liability

If you damage someone’s property (such as his or her 
car) in an accident and you are at fault, this coverage 
pays for repairs to that property. The minimum 
limit is $5,000. Higher limits are also available.

Some companies offer a combined single limit of 
$35,000 which meets the bodily injury liability and 
property damage liability minimum requirements.
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What Do Policy Limits Mean?
The coverage limits are the most your insurance 
company will pay for injuries to any one person, 
all persons injured in an accident, and for property 
damage. If you do not have enough liability 

Please refer to the Glossary found on page 11 for definitions of the terms in bold face.
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coverage, and you are found at fault for an accident, 
you may be responsible to pay for anything your 
insurance does not cover.

What Are the Optional 
Coverages in Pennsylvania?
Auto insurance policies also offer a variety of 
additional optional coverages that can be purchased. 
These include: 

Uninsured Motorist (UM)

This coverage applies to you, relatives residing in 
your household, and your passengers if injured by an 
at-fault uninsured motorist or hit and run driver. 
This does not cover damage to property.

Underinsured Motorist (UIM)

This coverage applies to you, relatives residing in 
your household, and your passengers if injured by 
an at-fault motorist who does not have enough 
insurance to pay your claim. This does not cover 
damage to property.

             Stacking of UM or UIM

           When you stack your UM and/or UIM  
         coverages, your limit of coverage for each  
       covered vehicle on your policy is multiplied by  
   the number of vehicles on the policy. You can also  
  stack your UM and/or UIM coverages to receive  
        uninsured or underinsured motorist  
           coverage from more than one policy under  
             which you are insured. By law, stacked  
             coverage applies unless you reject it. You  
             will pay less in premiums if you reject  
           stacked coverage.

         Funeral Benefit

Funeral Benefits pay, up to the limit specified in 
the policy, for funeral expenses if you or a family 
member dies as a result of an auto accident, regardless 
of who was at fault in the accident.

Income Loss

This pays a portion of your lost wages when injuries 
sustained in an auto accident keep you from working.

Collision

Collision coverage pays to repair damage to your 
car as a result of an accident. Most banks or lenders 
require you to buy this coverage to receive a car loan. 
Under Pennsylvania law, the insurance company 
applies a $500 deductible unless you request a 
lower amount. Generally speaking, the higher your 
deductible, the lower your premium.

Comprehensive

Comprehensive coverage pays for theft or 
damage to your car from hazards such as fire, flood, 
vandalism, and striking an animal. Most banks or 
lenders require you to buy this coverage to receive a 
car loan. There are various levels of deductible that 
may be purchased.

Extraordinary Medical Benefits

This pays for medical and rehabilitation expenses that 
exceed $100,000, up to a maximum limit of $1.1 
million.
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Accidental Death Benefit

Accidental Death Benefit pays a specified dollar benefit 
to the personal representative of a person who dies as 
a result of injuries sustained in an auto accident.

Rental Reimbursement Coverage

Rental Reimbursement Coverage pays—up to the 
limit on your policy, your expenses to rent a vehicle 
if the vehicle on your policy sustains a covered 
comprehensive or collision loss.

Towing Coverage

This reimburses you, up to the limit of 
your policy, for towing and labor costs 
for your covered vehicle. This coverage is 
usually only available if comprehensive 
and collision is carried on your vehicle.

GAP Coverage

Guaranteed Asset Protection (GAP) will 
pay the difference between an insurance company’s 
payment for a totaled vehicle and the balance of a 
vehicle loan. This coverage is traditionally purchased 
when an individual is buying a new vehicle. 
These policies do not pay for deductibles, missed 
payments, or late fees and many times have a limit 
to the amount they will pay. Check your policy 
carefully when choosing to add GAP coverage.

How Are Rates Determined?
When you are ready to purchase insurance, the 
insurance company or producer (agent) will 
ask you a series of questions and, based on your 
answers, will decide whether or not they will accept 
you as a policyholder. This practice is known as 
underwriting. By law, insurance companies may 
not unfairly discriminate by using underwriting 
standards based on things such as race, religion, 
nationality, ethnic group, age, gender, family size, 
occupation, place of residence, and marital status.

Certain items will be taken into consideration when 
figuring your premium, such as the type and age 

By law, insurance companies are 
prohibited from charging different 
rates based on an applicant’s race, 
religion, national origin, and gender.

What Should I Know Before I 
Start to Shop?
You need to know what coverages you want, as well 
as the limits and deductibles you desire. Also, you 
should have the following basic information available 
on all drivers in your household:

«	All drivers’ names, ages, and marital statuses;

«	Driving record (accidents and moving violations);

«	Estimated annual mileage driven;

«	Full vehicle identification number;

«	Year of vehicle;

«	Cost of vehicle; and

«	Special equipment, such as anti-theft devices, 
airbags, etc.

of the vehicle, its safety features, where the vehicle 
is garaged, the average number of miles driven in a 
year, the coverages and limits chosen for the policy, 
and the driving history of the drivers, to name a few. 
Some companies may use your credit history when 
determining your premium. Companies cannot use 
it to increase your rate when you renew. By law, 
insurance companies are prohibited from charging 
different rates based on an applicant’s race, religion, 
national origin, and gender.
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What Questions Should I Ask?
The insurer will ask you questions and use the 
answers to decide whether to insure you and how 
much your premium should be. You should also ask 
questions to be sure you are getting the coverage you 
want and from an agent and insurer you trust.

Here are some questions you should ask your agent 
or company representative when you  
shop for auto insurance:

«	What coverages  
am I required to  
have in this state?

«	What is the  
minimum amount  
of liability insurance  
coverage this state  
requires me to carry?

«	Are these liability limits high  
enough to cover me if I have an  
accident and I am at fault?

«	How much would it cost me to buy more than  
the minimum amount of liability insurance 
coverage?

«	Do I need collision and comprehensive 
(sometimes called “other than collision”) 
coverage?

«	What deductible should I have for collision 
coverage? For comprehensive (sometimes called 
“other than collision”) coverage?

«	Will this policy cover me if I let someone else drive 
my car?

«	Will this policy cover me if I have an accident in a 
rental car while on vacation?

«	Will this policy cover me if I have an accident 
while traveling for work?

«	If my car is totalled, how is the value of my 
vehicle set?

«	Can I choose any body shop or glass shop to 
repair my car? Does the policy pay for original 
manufacturer’s parts or aftermarket parts?

«	If my car is disabled, will this policy pay for a 
rental car while it is being repaired? Is there any 
cap or limit?

«	If my car is disabled, will this policy 
pay to have it towed to a garage or body 
shop?

«	How much can I save with 
a higher deductible?

«	What discounts are 
available?

«	What other types 
of property do you 
insure? Can I qualify 
for a discount if I buy 
both policies from your 
company?

«	What are my payment options? Can I 
pay monthly or quarterly? If I do, is there 
an extra charge?

«	How do I report a claim?

«	What coverage is available if I drive for a TNC like 
Uber or Lyft?

Teen Drivers
Insuring a teen driver is often a significant additional 
cost for parents. Some companies require that a 
teenager be added to the policy upon obtaining his/
her learner’s permit. Check with your insurance 
company to determine their requirements. Many 
companies consider younger drivers to be a higher 
risk, and this often translates into higher premiums.

Your child may be eligible for discounts. Ask your 
insurance company if discounts are offered for good 
grades or completed driver education courses.
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Mature Drivers
Taking a driver safety training course is an excellent 
way to keep your driving skills sharp, and it can 
also earn you a reduced rate on your car insurance 
if your carrier offers such a discount. Pennsylvania 
law requires insurance companies to provide at least a 
five percent premium discount for each vehicle on an 
auto policy under which all named insureds are 55 
years of age or older and have successfully completed 
a driver improvement course that meets the standards 
of PennDOT. 

Individuals must take an approved course every 
three years to continue to be eligible for the discount. 
They may be disqualified if, within three years 
of completing the course, they are involved in a 
chargeable accident, convicted of a moving violation, 
or are convicted—or have Accelerated Rehabilitative 
Disposition (ARD)—for driving under the influence of 
alcohol or a controlled substance.

Insurance companies recognize that mature drivers 
face unique challenges as they get older, and they will 
reward those mature drivers who take the initiative to 
minimize risk by enrolling in approved driver training 
courses.

Know How to Save
Discounts

Most insurance companies offer discounts for  
safer drivers, safer cars, drivers with multiple  
types of policies, good students, and more.  
There are also a variety of discounts that are  
required by law, like the mature drivers  
discount mentioned above. Ask your insurance 
company today and you could start to save.

Limited or Full Tort

If you are in an automobile accident, you are able 
to recover out-of-pocket medical and certain other 
expenses. Limited tort offers you significant 
savings on your premium but you are not able 
to recover certain damages—such as payments for 

pain and suffering—unless the injuries meet one of 
the exceptions in the law. With full tort, you have 
unrestricted rights. If you fail to specially elect limited  
tort, you will be deemed to have elected full tort.

Deductibles

By choosing higher deductibles on comprehensive 
and collision coverage, you may be able to lower 
your policy cost. Just remember that the deductible 
you choose is what you are responsible for paying 
out of your pocket in the event you file a claim.

Where to Buy Insurance
Now that you know all about what to look for when 
choosing your auto insurance, let’s talk about where 
to buy a policy.

Agents

Agents are individuals  
available locally to  
address your car  
insurance needs. Local  
agents can be independent  
or captive. If your agent is  
independent and not exclusive  
to one insurance company, he or  
she can compare policies and sell you the one that best  
                   meets your needs from among the  
                       multiple insurance companies he  
                          or she represents. If your local agent  
                            is a captive agent, he or she  
                             exclusively represents one  
                             insurance company.

                               Direct

                                   Some insurance companies sell  
                                       their policies directly over  
                                          the phone or Internet  
                                           without using agents. In  
                                           some cases, you can  
                                           choose to interact with a  
                                         direct company exclusively  
                                       over the Internet.
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Many companies have payment plans that allow you 
to pay the premium over a period of time, sometimes 
for an extra fee. If you decide to buy a policy on a 
payment plan, find out the applicable installment fees. 

If you use a premium finance company to pay for 
your insurance, the monthly payments may be easier, 
but the total of payments could be larger. Finance 

A good rule of thumb is to get quotes from at least 
three different insurance companies. Make sure your 
quotes are for the exact same coverages and limits. 
Cost can vary significantly among companies. Ask 
for copies of the insurance policies. It is important to 
read the policies to understand the differences in  
coverage from policy to policy and especially  
what is excluded. No two policies are exactly  
the same.

Things to Keep in Mind
Make sure you know the length  
of the policy term. The most  
common policy terms are six  
months (semi-annual) and  
one year (annual). While  
policies sold for a term of  
less than one year may  
require less money up front,  
they will be re-priced at the  
end of the policy term. Keep  
in mind that an insurance  
company can only non- 
renew you on the annual  
anniversary of when your  
policy was initially written,  
even if the policy term is less than 12 months.

Remember, you are ultimately 
responsible for the accuracy 
and completeness of the 
information on your application.

agreements are separate contracts that often include 
a limited power of attorney that gives the finance 
company some authority over the termination of 
your policy. Moreover, if the policy is cancelled, the 
insurance company must remit all return premiums 
to the finance company, which will apply them to your  
           account.

                       Personal effects and equipment such as  
                          cellular telephones, compact discs,  
                           CD players, and custom stereo  
                            speakers and systems that are not  
                          permanently installed in the vehicle  
                       by the manufacturer generally are not  
                 covered, unless specifically declared and  
             added to the policy.

Read before you sign. Remember, you are ultimately 
responsible for the accuracy and completeness of the 
information on your application.

Should You Drop Comprehensive 
and/or Collision Coverage on an 
Older Car? 
It may not be cost-effective to have comprehensive 
or collision coverage on cars worth less than $1,000.

What Happens if I Can’t Get 
Auto Insurance Because of 
My Driving History?
Pennsylvania’s Assigned Risk Plan is a 
program that offers car insurance to those 
who are unable to get coverage on their own. 
All insurance companies writing automobile 
insurance in the commonwealth are required 
to participate in the plan. Applicants are 

assigned to insurance companies in proportion to 
the amount of business each company writes in the 
commonwealth. To learn more about the Assigned 
Risk Plan you can visit www.aipso.com or contact 
the plan’s customer service office at (401) 946-2800 
or toll-free at (800) 477-6146.
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After You Purchase Insurance
After you purchase automobile insurance you will 
receive your policy. Your policy is a contract between 
you and your insurance company. You should take 
time to read your policy. Every policy includes a 
declarations page (below). It lists the insurance 
company, your name, the policy number, vehicles, 
coverages, deductibles, limits, cost of premium, 
and effective and expiration dates. If you have 

questions, contact your insurance agent or company. 
They are responsible for serving your policy, 
including responding to any questions you may have 
regarding the terms in your policy. If you purchased 
a policy directly from the insurance company, a 
company representative should be able to respond 
to your questions. If you still have questions, you 
may choose to email, write, or call the Pennsylvania 
Insurance Department’s Bureau of Consumer 
Services. We will be happy to answer your questions.

*Please refer to pages 2 and 3 for the Required Coverages and Optional Coverages in Pennsylvania.

*

*
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The Pennsylvania  
Insurance Department 

Whether you have a general question,  
or want to file a complaint, you can  
get help at Consumer Services online  
at www.insurance.pa.gov or contact  

us toll-free at 1-877-881-6388.

What Do I Do if I Am in an 
Accident?
If you are in an accident you should exchange 
information with the other driver. If there are injuries, 
call 911. Be sure to obtain the name, insurance 
company name, and phone number of each of the 

other drivers. If you cannot obtain this 
information, write down the license 
plate number of each of the other 
drivers. Other important information is 
as follows:

«	The year, make, and model of each of 
the other cars;

If you are in an accident you should 
exchange information with the other 
driver. If there are injuries, call 911.

Be sure to pay your premium. Pennsylvania law 
does not require companies to extend a grace period 
for premium payments. If your insurance company 
does not receive your premium by the due date, the 
company can cancel your policy.

Keep your proof-of-insurance card in your car at all 
times.

What if I Drive for a 
Transportation Network 
Company Like Uber or Lyft?
If you drive for a Transportation Network Company 
(TNC) like Uber or Lyft, you want to understand 
what coverages, if any, the TNC has in place that 
will cover you. While the TNC should have coverage 
in place, you may also want to have your own 
coverage. Most personal auto policies do not provide 
coverage while you are carrying a passenger for hire. 
However, there are insurers who do offer to endorse 
coverage onto your policy—usually for an additional 
premium. It is important not to drive for a TNC 
until you are sure that the coverage you need is in 
place to protect you.

What Should I Do if I Receive a 
Cancellation or Non-Renewal 
Notice from My Insurance 
Company?
First, contact your insurance producer (agent) 
or company for specific details. Pennsylvania law 
allows companies to cancel or non-renew policies 
for certain reasons. If you still are not satisfied with 
your company’s explanation, submit a statement 

detailing the reasons you disagree with the action to 
the Pennsylvania Insurance Department. To preserve 
your appeal rights, the statement must be 
received by the Insurance Department within 30 
days of the company’s mailing of the notice.

What if I Don’t Understand All 
the Terms in My Policy? What 
Should I Do? 
Discuss with your insurance producer (agent) or 
company the terms in your policy. If you purchased 
your policy directly from the insurance company, a 
company representative should be able to respond to 
your questions. If you still have questions, you may 
choose to write or call the Pennsylvania Insurance 
Department’s Bureau of Consumer Services.
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you that it has accepted or denied your claim or 
provide you with a written explanation of why 
more time is needed.

«	An insurance company must complete its 
investigation within 30 days of its receipt of notice 
of your claim, unless the investigation cannot 
reasonably be completed within 30 days. If the 
investigation cannot be completed within 30  
days, for every 45 days thereafter, the insurance  
company must provide you with an explanation  
           for the delay and state when a decision on 

the claim may be expected.

Vehicle Repairs
The choice of where your vehicle is repaired 
is up to you. Be sure to do your research 
when choosing an auto body repair shop. 
Some questions to ask:

«	How long has the shop been in business?

«	What is the shop’s reputation in the  
community?

«	Does the shop offer a lifetime warranty?

«	Has the shop worked with your insurance 
company in the past?

Ultimately, the insurance company 
is responsible for returning 
your vehicle back to its pre-
damaged condition.

Filing a Claim
To file a claim, call the phone number on your proof-
of-insurance card as soon as possible. The insurance 
company will assign a claims adjuster to investigate 
the claim. You should cooperate with the adjuster’s 
investigation of your claim. Take notes and keep 
track of the dates of conversations you have with 
your adjuster.

If you, the insurer, and the claims adjuster disagree, 
first try to resolve the differences with your insurer. 
Your agent may be helpful. Don’t feel rushed or 
pushed to agree to something you aren’t  
comfortable with.

Insurance companies, by law, must investigate  
your claim fairly and promptly. 

«	An insurance company has 10 working days to 
acknowledge its receipt of notice of your claim 
unless payment is made within these 10 days.

«	If you submitted a claim to your own insurance 
company, it has 15 working days after receipt 
of properly executed proofs of loss to inform 

«	If there are witnesses, their names and contact 
information; and

«	If an officer comes to the scene, his or her name, 
badge number, police report number, and contact 
information.

After the accident, write down the date, time, and 
location. If possible, take photos. Write down what 
happened. This will assist you when reporting the 
claim to your insurance company.

Whether an insurance company recommended the 
shop or not, the most important thing is a quality 
repair.

If you choose an auto body repair shop that charges 
more than the appraised amount to repair the vehicle, 
you may be responsible for costs in excess of the 
appraised amount.
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The Pennsylvania  
Insurance Department 

Whether you have a general question,  
or want to file a complaint, you can get 

help at Consumer Services online  
at www.insurance.pa.gov or contact  

us toll-free at 1-877-881-6388.

Pennsylvania law permits the use of non-OEM/
aftermarket parts but “the operational safety of 
the vehicle shall be paramount in considering the 
specification of new parts.” This consideration is 
vitally important for parts involving the drive train, 
steering gear, suspension units, brake system, or tires.

Aftermarket parts are usually made by a company 
different than the original part manufacturer. Be 
sure to consult with your auto body repair shop or 
insurance company if you have any safety concerns 
or part fit concerns when aftermarket parts are used  
to repair your vehicle. If aftermarket crash parts 
are included in a vehicle appraisal, it must include a 
statement that the appraisal has been prepared based 
on the use of aftermarket crash parts, that the 
use of these parts voids the existing warranty on the 
part being replaced, and the aftermarket crash part 
shall have a warranty equal to or better than the 
remainder of the existing warranty.

Used parts are original equipment (OE) from your 
vehicle’s manufacturer. Be sure to consult with your 
auto body repair shop or insurance company if you 
have any safety concerns about parts being used to 
repair your vehicle.

Ultimately, the insurance company is responsible 
for returning your vehicle back to its pre-damaged 
condition. If the company uses new parts to replace 
parts damaged on an older model vehicle, you may 
be responsible for additional costs as the vehicle is in 
better condition than before the accident.

What Happens if My Vehicle Is a 
Total Loss?
A vehicle is a total loss when the cost to return it 
back to the pre-damaged condition is more than the 
value of the vehicle or the vehicle is damaged too 
severely for repairs. There are different methods that 
can be used to calculate the replacement value of your 
vehicle. If you have questions regarding the method 
used, contact your insurance agent or company.

Many people make monthly payments on their 

vehicle. Depending on the agreement between the 
lienholder and the owner, the insurance payment 
can be made directly to the lienholder, the owner, 
or both. If the actual cash value is less than you owe 
on the vehicle, you may be responsible to pay the 
difference to the lienholder. If you believe your loan 
is more than the cash value, there are products that 
are available at that time that may eliminate or offset 
these costs.

One such product provided by insurance carriers is 
Guaranteed Asset Protection (GAP) Coverage, which 
will generally pay the difference between an insurance 
company’s payment for a totaled vehicle and the 
balance of a vehicle loan. This coverage is traditionally 
purchased when an individual is buying a vehicle. 
GAP coverage does not pay for deductibles, missed 
payments, or late fees and many times there is a 
limit to the amount it will pay. Check your policy 
carefully when choosing to add GAP coverage. If 
you have questions about GAP coverage, ask your 
insurance agent or company.

Another product that may be purchased in relation 
to a vehicle loan is a Debt Cancellation Agreement 
(DCA). When this product is sold by the bank issuing 
the vehicle loan, it is not considered insurance, but 
it functions similar to GAP Coverage. A DCA is an 
agreement between the loan issuer and the debtor to 
cancel any remaining debt if the debtor experiences 
a total loss and the amount of debt on the vehicle 
exceeds its actual cash value. Also similar to GAP 
Coverage, this product is traditionally purchased at 
the time that the vehicle is bought.



Auto Insurance Glossary—a 
Supplement to the Automobile 
Insurance Guide
These definitions are offered to give you a  
general understanding of the terms you may hear 
that are associated with automobile insurance. Please 
note that your individual company may define 
similar terms differently. The definitions page in 
your policy is the final authority regarding 
your coverage.

Adjuster
The person who manages the various aspects of 
a claim and determines what will be paid out in 
accordance with the policy and the facts.

Aftermarket Crash Part
A non-original equipment manufacturer (OEM) 
replacement part, either new or used, for any of the 
non-mechanical parts that generally constitute the 
exterior of the motor vehicle, including inner and 
outer panels.

Appraiser
The person who evaluates the damage caused by an 
accident or other covered loss and determines the 
amount to be paid under the policy terms.

Assigned Risk Plan
A program where drivers can get coverage when 
insurance companies are unwilling to sell them a 
policy.

Binder
A short-term agreement that provides temporary 
insurance coverage until the policy can be issued or 
delivered.

Bodily Injury Liability
If you injure someone in a car accident, this 
coverage pays damages for which you are liable, 
such as medical and rehabilitation expenses.

Cancellation
The termination of a policy at a date other than its 
annual anniversary date.

Claim
Notice to an insurance  
company that a loss has occurred  
which may be covered under the terms and 
conditions of the policy.

Collision
Pays to repair damage to your car as a result of an 
accident. Most banks or lenders require you to buy 
this coverage to receive a car loan.

Commission
A portion of the policy premium that is paid to 
an insurance producer (agent) by the insurance 
company as compensation for the producer’s work.

Comprehensive Coverage
Pays for theft or damage to your car from hazards 
such as fire, flood, vandalism, and striking an 
animal. Most banks or lenders require you to buy 
this coverage to receive a car loan.

Declarations (DEC) Page
Usually the first page of an insurance policy, it 
contains the full legal name of your insurance 
company, your name and address, the policy 
number, effective and expiration dates, premium 
payable, the amount and types of coverage, 
deductibles, the vehicle(s) that are covered on the 
insurance policy, and the vehicle identification 
numbers (VIN).

Deductible
The amount a policyholder is responsible to pay 
up front before covered benefits from the insurance 
company are payable. This is applicable to 
comprehensive or collision coverage only.
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Endorsement
A written agreement that changes the terms of an 
insurance policy by adding or subtracting coverage.

Exclusion
A provision in the policy that explains what is not 
covered.

Extraordinary Medical Benefits
Pays for medical and rehabilitation expenses that 
exceed $100,000, up to a maximum limit of $1.1 
million.

First Party
The named policyholder (insured) in an insurance 
contract and any relatives residing in the named 
policyholder’s household.

Full Tort
You retain unrestricted rights to bring suit against 
the negligent party.

Funeral Benefits
Pays, up to the limit specified in the policy, for 
funeral expenses if you or a family member dies as 
a result of an auto accident, regardless of who was 
at fault in the accident.

Income Loss
Pays a portion of your wages when injuries 
sustained in an auto accident keep you from 
working.

Insured
The person(s) entitled to covered benefits in case of 
an accident or loss.

Insurer
The insurance company who issues the insurance 
and agrees to pay for losses and provide covered 
benefits.

Lienholder
A person or business, usually a bank or financial 
firm, that retains the title of a vehicle while the 
purchaser pays off the loan.

Limited Tort
Limited Tort offers you significant savings on your 
premiums. You are still able to recover out-of-
pocket medical and certain other expenses; however, 
you are not able to recover certain damages—such 
as payments for pain and suffering—unless the 
injuries meet one of the exceptions in the law.

Limits
The maximum amount of benefits the insurance 
company agrees to pay under an insurance policy 
in the event of a loss.

Minimum Limit
The state-mandated minimum mandatory amount 
of benefits.

Medical Benefits
Pays medical bills for you and others who are 
covered by your policy, regardless of fault.

Non-Renewal
The termination of an insurance policy at its annual 
anniversary date.

Policy
A contract that states the rights and duties of the 
insurance company and the insured.

Premium
The price paid to the insurance company for a 
policy.

Premium Finance Company
A lending institution that finances automobile 
insurance premiums for a fee.

Producer (agent)
An individual or organization authorized to sell, 
solicit, negotiate, and service insurance policies for 
an insurance company.

Property Damage Liability
Covers damage to someone’s property (such as his 
or her car) resulting from an accident in which you 
are at fault.
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Quotation or Quote
An estimate of the cost of insurance based on the 
information supplied to the insurance producer 
(agent) or company. This amount may change 
depending upon findings during the underwriting 
process.

Rental Reimbursement Coverage
Pays—up to a defined amount—your expenses 
to rent a vehicle if you have a loss covered under 
comprehensive or collision benefits. Coverage is sold 
based on a daily amount of expense, subject to a 
maximum limit.

Single Limit Liability
Some companies offer single limit liability coverage, 
which pays—up to the specified limit—damages 
for which you are liable under bodily injury and 
property damage coverages.

Stacking of UM or UIM
When you stack your UM and/or UIM coverages, 
your limit of coverage for each covered vehicle on 
your policy is multiplied by the number of vehicles 
on the policy. You can also stack your UM and/or 
UIM coverages to receive uninsured or underinsured 
motorist coverage from more than one policy under 
which you are insured. Stacked coverage applies 
unless you reject it.

Subrogation
The process of recovering the amount of claims 
damages paid out to a policyholder from the legally 
liable party. When a company pursues the legally 
liable third party, they are required to include the 
policyholder’s deductible in the recovery process if 
requested by the policyholder. The company must 
then share any subrogation recoveries with the 
policyholder on a proportionate basis.

Surcharge
An extra charge applied to the premium by an 
insurance company, usually applied as a result of 
at-fault accidents or moving violations.

Third Party
An individual other than the policyholder or the 
insurance company who has suffered a loss and 
may be able to collect compensation under the 
policy, due to the negligent acts or omissions of the 
policyholder.

Total Loss
Damage or destruction to real or personal property 
to such extent that it cannot be rebuilt or repaired 
to its condition prior to the loss or when it 
would be cost-prohibitive to repair or rebuild in 
comparison to the value of the property prior to the 
loss.

Towing Coverage
An optional coverage of an automobile policy that 
pays a specified amount for towing and related 
labor costs.

Underinsured Motorist (UIM)
This coverage applies to you, relatives residing in 
your household, and your passengers if injured by 
an at-fault motorist who does not have enough 
insurance to pay your claim. This does not cover 
damage to property.

Underwriting
The initial 60-day time frame wherein the company 
processes and investigates the information provided 
on the application. The results of this process 
determine acceptability and the premium.

Uninsured Motorist (UM)
This coverage applies to you, relatives residing in 
your household, and your passengers if injured 
by an at-fault uninsured motorist or hit and run 
driver. This does not cover damage to property.





Questions? 
For more information on 

auto insurance, visit:

www.insurance.pa.gov 
and click “Auto” under 

Coverage

or 
call the department at 

1-877-881-6388

Follow and Like Us! 
@PAInsuranceDept 

Facebook.com/
PAInsuranceDepartment
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