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MEMO 
 
TO All Public Adjusters and Public Adjuster Solicitors Licensed in 

Pennsylvania 
 

FROM Jack Yanosky, Director 
Bureau of Licensing & Enforcement 

DATE September 10 , 2012

RE Important Notice on Implementation of Act 21 of 2012  

 
This notice is to highlight several important provisions of Act 21 of 2012 (Act 21) related to the 
implementation of the Act.  Act 21 is effective on September 30, 2012 and on this date, some 
important new requirements and processes will be effective for persons licensed in Pennsylvania 
as public adjusters, including but not limited to the following: 
 
Public Adjuster Solicitors will be converted to public adjusters and will require the new bond limit 
of $20,000.00 BEFORE acting as a public adjuster in any capacity.  The license conversion date 
is the effective date of Act 21, September 30, 2012. 
 
Following a public adjuster’s first license renewal under Act 21( i.e. the first occurring after 
September 30, 2012), the new license term will be biennial (2 years) and the expiration date of 
the public adjuster’s license will then be the last day of the individual’s birth month. Business 
entities will also be renewed for a two-year cycle; however, these license types will maintain the 
original issue date. 
 
24 hours of continuing education (CE) will be required for renewal of all resident public adjuster 
licenses commencing with the first full, two-year license cycle and every two-year period 
thereafter. In addition to completing CE, persons renewing their public adjuster license must also 
submit a properly completed renewal form and pay the required license fee.  Non-resident public 
adjusters CE requirement will be reciprocal with their home state.   
 
New applicants for a resident public adjuster license will be required to submit fingerprints during 
the application process.  This is done ONLY at the Prometric exam centers and we use live-scan 
technology.  This permits us to obtain national criminal history records, which are usually 
provided to the Department within 5 business days of the submission of fingerprints.  The exam 
centers also have kiosks available to submit applications electronically, which is required before 
an applicant can be fingerprinted.  This one-stop shop process has been in place since 2005 for 
insurance producers, has been copied by several other states and has allowed for an expedited 
processing of applications under normal circumstances. 
 
Act 21 will require a public adjuster to provide notice to the insured’s insurer within two (2) 
calendar days of entering into a contract with the insured.  For consistency, this notice date will 
be  determined based on the “execution” date of the contract as outlined in the Department 
developed public adjuster contract, Edition 2, September 6 2012 and the Notice issued 
September 5, 2012. 
 
More information of all types can be obtained from our website at www.insurance.pa.gov and 
select “Services for Producers and Other Licensees” from the menu bar on the left of the 
homepage.  
 


