Consumer alert: 3D Mammography coverage
Governor Tom Wolf announced new 3D mammograms must be covered
at no cost to women in Pennsylvania, the same as traditional, 2D mammograms
under current Pennsylvania law.
State law requires annual mammograms to be available with no
cost sharing on the part of consumers.
Technology advances have led to the development of 3D mammograms, also
called tomosynthesis. Insurance
Commissioner Teresa Miller has learned some women are being given the choice of
whether to get at 2D or 3D mammogram, but if they choose a 3D mammogram, are
receiving a bill for the additional cost, typically between $50 and $60. In some cases, women are being given the 3D
mammograms without their knowledge, and charged the higher amount.
Commissioner Miller discussed this issue with Governor Wolf,
who then clarified that his administration’s policy is that annual mammograms
must be available at no cost to consumers, regardless of the technology
involved, as state law does not specify the particular technology that must be
used. The Governor said it is important
women have the latest and best technology to help with early diagnosis of
breast cancer, and to get needed treatment as soon as possible.
Commissioner Miller encourages all women to talk to their
doctors about which type of mammogram is right for them. Commissioner Miller
also wants women to know that if they have questions about the benefits they
are entitled to under Pennsylvania law or are asked to pay any out-of-pocket
charges for their annual mammogram, they may contact the Insurance Department
at 1-877-881-6388, or by visiting www.insurance.pa.gov, and clicking on “Consumers.”