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BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
OF THE
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN RE: : VIOLATIONS:
WILLIAM RODERICK GRIFFITH 40 P.S. §§ 310.11(1), (2), (13),
1300 Woodcrest Drive : (20), 310.78(a) and (b)

Reading, PA 19607

Applicant. Docket No. C0O22-09-026

CONSENT ORDER
AND NOW, this _ 4th day of QOctober , 2022 , this Order is

hereby issued by the Insurance Department of Commonwealth of Pennsylvania pursuant

to the statutes cited above and in disposition of the matter captioned above.

1. Applicant hereby admits and acknowledges that he has received proper
notice of his rights to a formal administrative hearing pursuant to the Administrative

Agency Law, 2 Pa.C.S. §§ 101, et seq., or other applicable law.

2. Applicant hereby waives all rights to a formal administrative hearing in
this matter, and agrees that this Consent Order, and the Findings of Fact and Conclusions
of Law contained herein, shall have the full force and effect of an Order duly entered in
accordance with the adjudicatory procedures set forth in the Administrative Agency Law,

supra, or other applicable law.
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3.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Pennsylvania Insurance Department (“Department”) finds true and

correct each of the following Findings of Fact:

(a)

(®)

(©)

(d)

(e)

)

Applicant is William Roderick Griffith and maintains a record of his
address with the Pennsylvania Insurance Department as 1300 Woodcrest

Drive, Reading, PA 19607.

Applicant is a prior licensee who failed to renew his license on January

31, 2012, and does not currently possess a Resident Producer license.

The Pennsylvania Department of Revenue, on June 29, 2007, placed a
lien against the Applicant in the Court of Common Pleas of Berks

County, Pennsylvania, for taxes in the amount of $2,529.19.

Applicant, on January 6, 2009, was indicted on two (2) counts of
Insurance Fraud Second Degree, Conspiracy Second Degree, and
Workers' Compensation Fraud Fourth Degree, in the Superior Court of

New Jersey Camden County.

Applicant failed to report the charges identified in finding 3(d) to the

Pennsylvania Insurance Department within thirty (30) days.

Applicant, on June 27, 2009, submitted an application for license

renewal and incorrectly answered "No" to the questions that asks,




(2

(h)

@

@

"[s]ince the last renewal or initial application in this state, have you
failed to pay state income tax or comply with any administrative or court

order directing the payment of state income tax?"

Applicant, on October 14, 2009, entered into a Consent Order with the
Pennsylvania Insurance Department and was placed under supervision
for five (5) years, and was ordered to pay restitution to the Pennsylvania
Department of Revenue in the amount of $2,529. 19, for failing to notify
the Department of the charges identified in finding 3(d) within thirty (30)
days and for the incorrect answer on his June 27, 2009, license renewal

application regarding his failure to pay state income taxes.

Applicant, as part of the Consent Order, was to surrender his
Pennsylvania Resident Producer license within three (3) days upon
conviction or entry of a guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere to the

charges identified in finding 3(d).

Applicant, on March 26, 2010, entered into a Pretrial Intervention with
the Superior Court of New Jersey, Camden County, for the charges cited

in finding 3(d) for twelve (12) months.

Applicant, on July 28, 2010, was imposed a penalty of $1,500.00 by the
New Jersey Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor for allegedly
knowingly mispresenting material information on workers' compensation
policies with one or more insurance companies in order to obtain lower

insurance premiums.
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(m)
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Applicant, on October 18, 2010, completed the Pretrial Intervention, and

the charges identified in finding 3(d) were dismissed.

Applicant failed to report the administrative action identified in finding

3(j) to the Pennsylvania Insurance Department within thirty (30) days.

Applicant electronically initiated an application for a Resident Applicant
license on April 21, 2022, wherein, he disclosed his criminal,

administrative action, and tax history.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

In accord with the above Findings of Fact and applicable provisions of

law, the Insurance Department concludes and finds the following Conclusions of Law:

(a)

(b)

(c)

Applicant is subject to the jurisdiction of the Pennsylvania Insurance

Department.

40 P.S. § 310.11(1) prohibits a licensee or an applicant for a license from
providing incorrect, misleading, incomplete or false information to the

Department in a license application.

Applicant’s activities described in paragraph 3(f) violate 40 P.S. §

310.11(1).




(d)

(e)

¢

(€9)

(h)

(@)

)

40 P.S. § 310.11(2) prohibits a licensee or an applicant from violating the
insurance laws or regulations of this Commonwealth or a subpoena or

order of the commissioner or of another state’s insurance commissioner.

Applicant’s activities described above in paragraphs 3(d), 3(e), 3(f), 3(j)

and 3(1) violate 40 P.S. § 310.11(2).

40 P.S. § 310.11(13) prohibits a licensee or an applicant from failing to
pay state income tax or comply with any administrative or court order

directing the payment of state income tax.

Applicant’s activities described in paragraph 3(c) violate 40 P.S. §

310.11(13).

40 P.S. § 310.11(20) prohibits a licensee or an applicant from
demonstrating a lack of general fitness, competence or reliability
sufficient to satisfy the Department that the licensee is worthy of

licensure.

Applicant’s activities described in paragraphs 3(c) through 3(1) violate 40

P.S. § 310.11(20).

40 P.S. § 310.78(a) requires a licensee to report any administrative action
taken in another jurisdiction or by another governmental agency within
30 days of the final disposition, to include a copy of the order, consent

order or other relevant legal documents.




(k)

(m)
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Applicant’s activities described in paragraph 3(1) violate 40 P.S. §

310.78(a).

40 P.S. § 310.78(b) requires that within 30 days of being charged with
criminal conduct, a licensee shall report the charges to the Department.
Additionally, the licensee shall provide the Department with the

following within 30 days of their availability to the licensee:

(D a copy of the criminal complaint, information or indictment.

(2) a copy of the order resulting from any pretrial hearing.

3) a report of the final disposition of the charges.

Applicant’s activities described in paragraph 3(e) violate 40 P.S. §

310.78(b).

Applicant’s violations of 40 P.S. §§ 310.11(1), (2), (13), (20), 310.78(a)

and (b) are punishable by the following, under 40 P.S. § 310.91:

(1) suspension, revocation or refusal to issue the license;

(i1) imposition of a civil penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars

(85,000.00) for every violation of the Act;

(ili)  an order to cease and desist; and
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(iv)  any other conditions as the Commissioner deems appropriate.

ORDER

In accord with the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and

as a condition of licensure, the Insurance Department orders and Applicant consents to

the following:

(a)

(b)

(©)

Applicant shall cease and desist from engaging in the activities described

herein in the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

Applicant’s licenses may be immediately suspended by the Department
following its investigation and determination that (i) any terms of this
Order have not been complied with, or (ii) any confirmed complaint
against Applicant is accurate and a statute or regulation has been
violated. The Department’s right to act under this section is limited to a

period of ten (10) years from the date of this Order.

Applicant specifically waives his right to prior notice of said suspension,
but will be entitled to a hearing upon written request received by the
Department no later than thirty (30) days after the date the Department
mailed to Applicant by certified mail, return receipt requested,
notification of said suspension, which hearing shall be scheduled for a
date within sixty (60) days of the Department’s receipt of Applicant’s

written request.




(d) At the hearing referred to in paragraph 5(c) of this Order, Applicant shall

have the burden of demonstrating that he is worthy of a license.

(e) In the event Applicant’s licenses are suspended pursuant to paragraph
5(b) above, and Applicant either fails to request a hearing within thirty
(30) days or at the hearing fails to demonstrate that he is worthy of a

license, Applicant’s suspended licenses shall be revoked.

6. In the event the Insurance Department finds that there has been a breach
of any of the provisions of this Order, based upon the Findings of Fact and Conclusions
of Law contained herein, the Department may pursue any and all legal remedies
available, including but not limited to the following: The Department may enforce the
provisions of this Order in an administrative action pursuant to the Administrative
Agency Law, supra, or other relevant provisions of law; or, if applicable, the Department
may enforce the provisions of this Order in any other court of law or equity having

jurisdiction.

7- Alternatively, in the event the Insurance Department finds there has been
a breach of any of the provisions of this Order, the Department may declare this Order to
be null and void and, thereupon, reopen the entire matter for appropriate action pursuant

to the Administrative Agency Law, supra, or other relevant provision of law.

8. In any such enforcement proceeding, Applicant may contest whether a
breach of the provisions of this Order has occurred but may not contest the Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law contained herein.




9. Applicant hereby expressly waives any relevant statute of limitations and

application of the doctrine of laches for purposes of any enforcement of this Order.

10. This Order constitutes the entire agreement of the parties with respect to
the matters referred to herein, and it may not be amended or modified except by an

amended order signed by all the parties hereto.

11. This Order shall be final upon execution by the Insurance Department.
Only the Insurance Commissioner or a duly authorized delegee is authorized to bind the
Insurance Department with respect to the settlement of the alleged violations of law
contained herein, and this Consent Order is not effective until executed by the Insurance

Commissioner or duly authorized delegee.
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WILLIAM RODERICK GRIFFITH, Applicant

COMMONWFALTH (JF PENNSYLVANIA

By: DAVID J. BUONO JR.
Deputy Insurance Commissioner




BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
OF THE
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN RE: The Act of April 9, 1929, P.L. 177, No. 175, known as The
Administrative Code of 1929

AND NOW, this 318 day of _ March____, 2022, David J. Buono, Jr.,
Deputy Insurance Commissioner, is hereby designated as the Commissioner’s duly
authorized representative for purposes of entering in and executing Consent Orders. This
delegation of authority shall continue in effect until otherwise terminated by a later Order

of the Insurance Commissioner.

Michael Hum§t 1;?3"". Py
Acting Insurance Commi

ssioner
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