## RECEIVED

By Admin Hearings, Ins Dept at 1:03 pm, Feb 10, 2023

# BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

DIDE		
IN RE:		VIOLATIONS:
	•	VIOLATIONS.

LA SHAWN MONIQUE WILKERSON 2105 Northview Lane

Harrisburg, PA 17110-3912

40 P.S. §§ 310.11(1), (14), (20) and

310.78(b)

Respondent.

Docket No. CO23-01-015

#### CONSENT ORDER

AND NOW, this <u>10th</u> day of <u>February</u>, <u>2023</u>, this Order is hereby issued by the Insurance Department of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania pursuant to the statutes cited above and in disposition of the matter captioned above.

- 1. Respondent hereby admits and acknowledges that she has received proper notice of her rights to a formal administrative hearing pursuant to the Administrative Agency Law, 2 Pa.C.S. §§ 101, et seq., or other applicable law.
- 2. Respondent hereby waives all rights to a formal administrative hearing in this matter, and agrees that this Consent Order, and the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law contained herein, shall have the full force and effect of an Order duly entered in accordance with the adjudicatory procedures set forth in the Administrative Agency Law, supra, or other applicable law.

#### FINDINGS OF FACT

- 3. The Pennsylvania Insurance Department ("Department") finds true and correct each of the following Findings of Fact:
  - (a) Respondent is La Shawn Monique Wilkerson and maintains a record of her address with the Pennsylvania Insurance Department as 2105
     Northview Lane, Harrisburg, PA 17110-3912.
  - (b) Respondent is, and at all times relevant hereto has been, a licensed Resident Producer.
  - (c) Respondent, on May 18, 2018, was charged by the Susquehanna

    Township Police Department (Dauphin, PA) with one (1) count of

    Aggravated Assault, a Felony.
  - (d) Respondent failed to notify the Department of her criminal charges identified in finding 3(c) within 30 days.
  - (e) Respondent, on July 2, 2018, was issued a warning letter by the Department for the charges identified in finding 3(c) and informing her of the need to report criminal charges and the final disposition of those charges within 30 days.
  - (f) Respondent, on March 18, 2022, was convicted in the Court of Common

    Pleas of Dauphin County of one (1) count of Aggravated Assault, a

Felony, and was sentenced to nine (9) months of probation as a result of the charges identified in finding 3(c).

- (g) Respondent failed to notify the Department of the final disposition of her criminal charges identified in finding 3(f) within 30 days.
- (h) Respondent, on July 31, 2018, and July 30, 2020, submitted renewal applications and incorrectly answered "No" to the question that asks, "[h]ave you been convicted of a felony, had a judgement withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a felony, which has not been previously reported to this insurance department?"

#### **CONCLUSIONS OF LAW**

- 4. In accord with the above Findings of Fact and applicable provisions of law, the Insurance Department concludes and finds the following Conclusions of Law:
  - (a) Respondent is subject to the jurisdiction of the Pennsylvania Insurance

    Department.
  - (b) 40 P.S. § 310.11(1) prohibits a licensee or an applicant for a license from providing incorrect, misleading, incomplete or false information to the Department in a license application.
  - (c) Respondent's activities described in paragraph 3(h) violate 40 P.S. § 310.11(1).

- (d) 40 P.S. § 310.11(14) prohibits a licensee or an applicant from committing a felony or its equivalent.
- (e) Respondent's activities described in paragraph 3(f) violate 40 P.S. § 310.11(14).
- (f) 40 P.S. § 310.11(20) prohibits a licensee or an applicant from demonstrating a lack of general fitness, competence or reliability sufficient to satisfy the Department that the licensee is worthy of licensure.
- (g) Respondent's activities described in paragraphs 3(c) through 3(h) violate 40 P.S. § 310.11(20).
- (h) 40 P.S. § 310.78(b) requires that within 30 days of being charged with criminal conduct, a licensee shall report the charges to the Department. Additionally, the licensee shall provide the Department with the following within 30 days of their availability to the licensee:
  - (1) a copy of the criminal complaint, information or indictment.
  - (2) a copy of the order resulting from any pretrial hearing.
  - (3) a report of the final disposition of the charges.
- (i) Respondent's activities described in paragraph 3(g) violate 40 P.S. § 310.78(b).

- (j) Respondent's violations of 40 P.S. §§ 310.11(1), (14), (20) and 310.78(b) are punishable by the following, under 40 P.S. § 310.91:
  - (i) suspension, revocation or refusal to issue the license;
  - (ii) imposition of a civil penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars (\$5,000.00) for every violation of the Act;
  - (iii) an order to cease and desist; and
  - (iv) any other conditions as the Commissioner deems appropriate.

#### **ORDER**

- 5. In accord with the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, the Insurance Department orders and Respondent consents to the following:
  - (a) Respondent shall cease and desist from engaging in the activities described herein in the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.
  - (b) Respondent shall pay a civil penalty of five hundred dollars (\$500.00) to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Payment of this penalty shall be made by certified check or money order, payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Payment should be directed to the Pennsylvania Insurance Department, Bureau of Licensing and Enforcement, 1227 Strawberry Square, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120. Payment may be

- enclosed with the Consent Order, but must be paid in any event no later than fourteen (14) days after the date of the Consent Order.
- (c) Respondent's licenses may be immediately suspended by the Department following its investigation and determination that (i) any terms of this Order have not been complied with, or (ii) any confirmed complaint against Respondent is accurate and a statute or regulation has been violated. The Department's right to act under this section is limited to a period of five (5) years from the date of this Order.
- (d) Respondent specifically waives her right to prior notice of said suspension, but will be entitled to a hearing upon written request received by the Department no later than thirty (30) days after the date the Department mailed to Respondent by certified mail, return receipt requested, notification of said suspension, which hearing shall be scheduled for a date within sixty (60) days of the Department's receipt of Respondent's written request.
- (e) At the hearing referred to in paragraph 5(d) of this Order, Respondent shall have the burden of demonstrating that she is worthy of a license.
- (f) In the event Respondent's licenses are suspended pursuant to paragraph 5(c) above, and Respondent either fails to request a hearing within thirty (30) days or at the hearing fails to demonstrate that she is worthy of a license, Respondent's suspended licenses shall be revoked.

- 6. In the event the Insurance Department finds that there has been a breach of any of the provisions of this Order, based upon the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law contained herein, the Department may pursue any and all legal remedies available, including but not limited to the following: The Department may enforce the provisions of this Order in an administrative action pursuant to the Administrative Agency Law, supra, or other relevant provisions of law; or, if applicable, the Department may enforce the provisions of this Order in any other court of law or equity having jurisdiction.
- 7. Alternatively, in the event the Insurance Department finds there has been a breach of any of the provisions of this Order, the Department may declare this Order to be null and void and, thereupon, reopen the entire matter for appropriate action pursuant to the Administrative Agency Law, <u>supra</u>, or other relevant provision of law.
- 8. In any such enforcement proceeding, Respondent may contest whether a breach of the provisions of this Order has occurred but may not contest the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law contained herein.
- Respondent hereby expressly waives any relevant statute of limitations
   and application of the doctrine of laches for purposes of any enforcement of this Order.
- 10. This Order constitutes the entire agreement of the parties with respect to the matters referred to herein, and it may not be amended or modified except by an amended order signed by all the parties hereto.

11. This Order shall be final upon execution by the Insurance Department.

Only the Insurance Commissioner or a duly authorized delegee is authorized to bind the Insurance Department with respect to the settlement of the alleged violations of law contained herein, and this Consent Order is not effective until executed by the Insurance Commissioner or duly authorized delegee.

BY: Jackerson Monique Mikerson, Respondent

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

By: DAVID J. BUONO JR. Deputy Insurance Commissioner

### BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN RE:

The Act of April 9, 1929, P.L. 177, No. 175, known as The Administrative Code of 1929

AND NOW, this \_\_31<sup>st</sup> \_\_ day of \_\_March\_\_\_\_\_, 2022, David J. Buono, Jr., Deputy Insurance Commissioner, is hereby designated as the Commissioner's duly authorized representative for purposes of entering in and executing Consent Orders. This delegation of authority shall continue in effect until otherwise terminated by a later Order of the Insurance Commissioner.

Michael Humph eys
Acting Insurance Commissioner

