Begin Main Content Area

2014 Assessment - 19%

ASSESSMENT RATE UPDATE (September 28, 2015)
The annual assessment rate for 2014 has been updated from 23% to 19%.  This is as a result of the implementation of the lawsuit settlement.  Please begin to use the new lowered assessment rate documents as soon as possible.

2014 Assessment Rate of 23% as published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin

2014 Assessment Manual v.3 Published 6.18.2014 | Cover Letter  
  • Exhibit 1:  Updated assessment rate
  • Cancellation and Endorsements:   Update of the exceptions to the no credit rule as found on page 16.
  • Facilities Only: Effective January 1, 2014, complete a worksheet for each territory in which the facility provides medical or healthcare services, under the same license, listing the visit counts separately for each territory and submit with completed Form e-216.  See revised pages 7 and 22-27 of the manual.
The 2014 Mcare Assessment Manual ("Manual") is intended to assist in calculating Mcare assessments pursuant to Act 13 of 2002.  Please be certain to read it in its entirety to determine how changes may alter your processes.

  • Exhibit 1 Rates for 2014 Individual Health Care Providers - Updated Rate as of 9.28.2015
  • Exhibit 2 Rates for 2014 Hospitals, Nursing Homes and Primary Health Care Centers
  • Exhibit 3 JUA's Specialty Classification Codes for Physicians, Surgeons and Other Health Care Providers


When submitting coverage for 2014, please use the new lower assessment rates available in the following updated Form e-216:
2014 e-216 Remittance Advice Form.xls  - Published 7.21.2017
  • Exhibit 6A Hospital Roster - Discontinued as of 11.15.2016

ELECTRONIC SUBMISSIONS of e-216:  Electronic submission of Excel type e-216 is the preferred method of reporting basic professional liability insurance coverage to Mcare.  No longer is a hardcopy 216 required when submitting your e-216 with or without payment.  This change applies to all submissions, regardless of the assessment year, with a run date on or after January 1, 2013.  The e-216 must be sent to the following e-mail address  Payment must be sent to Mcare on or about the same time as the e-216 is e-mailed, but within 60 days of the effective date.   For complete details, please refer to Section 1 of the 2014 Assessment Manual. 

  • The standard for submitting new and renewal business to Mcare is to do so electronically via Form e-216, or one of the other two approved formats listed in the manual.  Submitting electronically increases Mcare's ability to process coverage information and payment in a more efficient and expeditious manner.  
  • This form is to be used by basic professional liability insurance carriers and approved self-insurers for summarizing surcharges/assessments collected, payable and refundable. Except for an approved self-insured health care provider, a health care provider may not complete this form.
  • All payments due, should be received by Mcare within 60 days from the effective date of coverage, cancellation or endorsement.


Refer to the 2014 Assessment Manual for rating information.

Laws, regulations, statements of policy and notes

Click here to access Laws, Regulations, Statements of Policy and Notices that may assist your understanding and reporting of Mcare coverage and/or claims.
The Pennsylvania Code is the official repository for all Commonwealth regulations. The Insurance Department's regulations are available at

Click here for Mcare regulations published in the Pennsylvania Code.



Mcare will accept assessment payments through an electronic funds transfer (EFT) payment process.  The EFT may be a wire transfer or an ACH.  The EFT process provides Mcare and primary insurers another payment method, as an alternative to a paper check.  We request the use of EFTs when assessment payments are made.   

To learn more about this new payment option and the minimum standards, please send an email to Mcare’s Fiscal Unit expressing your interest.  We will have an Mcare representative call you to explain the program.