Begin Main Content Area

2017 ASSESSMENT - 19%

2017 Assessment Rate of 19% as published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Published 10.22.16 
For purposes of the 2017 annual assessment, the rates shall be those currently approved for use by the JUA.  Participating health care providers having approved self-insurance plans shall be assessed an amount equal to the assessment imposed on a participating health care provider of like class, size, risk and kind as determined by the Department.


The 2017 Mcare Assessment Manual ("Manual") is intended to assist in calculating Mcare assessments pursuant to Act 13 of 2002.  Please be certain to read it in its entirety to determine how changes may alter your processes.
  • 2017 Exhibit 1.pdf    Rates for 2017 Individual Health Care Providers
  • 2017 Exhibit 2.pdf    Exhibit 2  Rates for 2017 Hospitals, Nursing Homes and Primary Health Care Centers
  • 2017 Exhibit 3.pdf    JUA's Specialty Classification Codes for Physicians, Surgeons and Other Health Care Providers


 2017 e-216 Remittance Advice Form V13.2.8.xls  Published 5.28.19

The "Submit e-216" button is a new enhancement.  Please refer to Section I of the 2018 Assessment Manual for details.

Since Mcare Periodically makes improvements to the Form e-216, downloading a new Form e-216 each time will ensure you are using the most current version.
Exhibit 6A Hospital Roster - Discontinued as of 11.15.16 
IMPORTANT PROCESSING UPDATE - ELECTRONIC SUBMISSIONS: Electronic submission of Excel type e-216 is the preferred method of reporting basic professional liability insurance coverage to Mcare.  No longer is a hardcopy 216 required when submitting your e-216 with or without payment.  This applies to all submissions, regardless of the assessment year or run date.  The e-216 must be sent to the following e-mail address  Payment must be sent to Mcare on or about the same time as the e-216 is e-mailed, but within 60 days of the effective date.    For complete details, please refer to Section I of the 2017 Assessment Manual. 
  • The standard for submitting new and renewal business to Mcare is to do so electronically via Form e-216, or one of the other two approved formats listed in the manual.  Submitting electronically increases Mcare's ability to process coverage information and payment in a more efficient and expeditious manner.   
  • This form is to be used by basic professional liability insurance carriers and approved self-insurers for summarizing surcharges/assessments collected, payable and refundable. Except for an approved self-insured health care provider, a health care provider may not complete this form.
  • All payments due, should be received by Mcare within 60 days from the effective date of coverage, cancellation or endorsement.
Refer to Section IV of the 2017 Assessment Manual for rating information. 


Click here to access Laws, Regulations, Statements of Policy and Notices that may assist your understanding and reporting of Mcare coverage and/or claims.
The Pennsylvania Code is the official repository for all Commonwealth regulations. The Insurance Department's regulations are available at
Click here for Mcare regulations published in the Pennsylvania Code.


Mcare will accept assessment payments through an electronic funds transfer (EFT) payment process.  The EFT may be a wire transfer or an ACH.  The EFT process provides Mcare and primary insurers another payment method, as an alternative to a paper check.  We request the use of EFTs when assessment payments are made.   

To learn more about this payment option and the minimum standards, please send an email to Mcare’s Fiscal Unit expressing your interest.  We will have an Mcare representative call you to explain the program.