2018 ASSESSMENT -
2018 Assessment Rate of 19% as published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Published 11.01.17
The Pennsylvania Joint Underwriting Association's (JUA) prevailing primary premium specialty and territory classes have not changed from last year and the assessment percentage for 2018 remains at 19%.
2018 Assessment Manual.pdf Published 11.01.17 2018 Assessment Manual Cover Letter.pdf
The 2018 Mcare Assessment Manual is
intended to assist in calculating Mcare assessments pursuant to Act 13 of 2002.
Please be certain to read it in its entirety to determine how changes may
alter your processes.
2018 Exhibit 1.pdf Rates for 2018 Individual Health Care
2018 Exhibit 2.pdf Rates for
2018 Hospitals, Nursing Homes and Primary Health Care Centers
2018 Exhibit 3.pdf JUA's Specialty Classification Codes for
Physicians, Surgeons and Other Health Care Providers
This manual describes the functions of the enhanced e-216.
The "Submit e-216" button is a new enhancement. Please refer to Section I of the 2018 Assessment Manual for details. Since Mcare periodically makes improvements to the Form e-216, downloading a new Form e-216 each time will ensure you are using the most current version.
SUBMISSIONS: Electronic submission of the Form e-216 is the preferred
method of reporting basic professional liability insurance coverage to Mcare. The Form e-216 must be sent to the following
e-mail address email@example.com. Payment
must be sent to Mcare on or about the same time as the Form e-216 is e-mailed, but
within 60 days of the effective date. For complete details, please
refer to Section I of the 2018 Assessment Manual.
· Submitting electronically increases Mcare's ability to process coverage information in a more efficient and expeditious manner.
· This form is to be
used by basic professional liability insurance carriers and approved self-insurers for summarizing assessments collected, payable and refundable. A health care provider may not complete this form except for an approved
· All payments due should be received by Mcare within 60 days from the effective date of coverage.
ASSESSMENT PAYMENT OPTION AVAILABLE
Mcare will accept assessment payments through an electronic funds transfer (EFT) payment process. The EFT may be a wire transfer or an ACH. The EFT process provides Mcare and primary insurers another payment method, as an alternative to a paper check. We request the use of EFTs when assessment payments are made.
To learn more about this payment option and the minimum standards, please send an email to Mcare's Fiscal Unit at firstname.lastname@example.org expressing your interest. We will have an Mcare representative call you to explain the program.
REGULATIONS, STATEMENTS OF POLICY AND NOTES
Click HERE to access laws, regulations, statements of policy and notices that may assist your understanding and reporting of Mcare coverage and/or claims.
The Pennsylvania Code is the official repository for all
Commonwealth regulations. The Insurance Department's regulations are available
Click here for
Mcare regulations published in the Pennsylvania Code.