MAINTAIN YOUR LICENSE
There are certain requirements that are needed to maintain your license such as renewing your license and continuing education.
LICENSE RENEWALS -
Depending on which license you hold your license may renew biennially or annually. Renewal notices are sent approximately 60 days prior to your present license expiration date. However, it is the responsibility of each licensee to ensure that their licenses are current and do not lapse. At this time lapsed licenses cannot be renewed online. Renewal forms can be found in the chart below by clicking on appropriate license type.
LAPSED LICENSE RENEWAL FORMS:
Resident and non-resident individual insurance producers and title agents
Resident and non-resident insurance producer business entities and title agencies
For your convenience, there are two options you can take advantage of to renew your license, online or by mail.
MOST EFFECTIVE METHOD:
ONLINE RENEWAL -
The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is committed to continually improving the service provided to insurance producers, other licensees and companies through the use of technology. As part of this commitment, we have contracted with Sircon and the National Insurance Producer Registry to provide cost effective, web-based services that allow insurance companies and licensees to process online requests such as appointments and terminations, apply for a license or renew an active license in minutes. By using technology it extends the time you can gain access to department services to 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and does not limit you to normal business office hours. We hope you appreciate and utilize this increased level of access to the department’s services.
RENEWAL BY MAIL -
Please allow up to six weeks under this option. Mail your payment, check payable to "Pennsylvania Insurance Department," along with the properly completed renewal invoice directly to:
Pennsylvania Insurance Department
Bureau of Licensing and Enforcement
1227 Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120
POINTS TO REMEMBER -
All questions on the form must be accurately completed and the appropriate renewal fee must be paid. If you are required to complete continuing education you must be current on all your continuing education requirements. If the renewal application is not correctly completed, the fee not paid or your continuing education is not compliant, the license will not renew.
CONTINUING EDUCATION -
As an additional protection to Pennsylvania’s insurance consumers, continuing education (CE) is one tool the department uses to ensure ongoing technical and professional competency of its licensed insurance professionals. Act 147 of 2002 gives the department limited authority to waive CE requirements on an individual basis. Typically these waivers are a result of military service or other well-documented extenuating circumstances.
Act 147 of 2002, effective June 4, 2003, requires licensed insurance producers to complete continuing education credits to maintain their license. Failure to complete the minimum 24-hour requirement during your two-year licensing cycle will result in the voluntary termination of your license.
INSURANCE PRODUCERS AND TITLE AGENTS -
For individual continuing education transcripts as well as a listing of all approved education courses and course providers, please access Sircon's website at:
Providers - Please visit the following website for information regarding continuing education and pre-licensing education for the Pennsylvania Insurance Department: www.psiexams.com. For continuing education provider and course applications, and instructor verifications contact:
PSI Regional Processing Center
Attn: PA INS
309 West Washington Street, Suite 200
Chicago, IL 60606
Toll Free: 844-889-8970
Web site: www.psiexams.com